Extra Credit Post: The Passion of the Christ

I watched the movie, Passion of the Christ.  Directed by the infamous Mel Gibson and made in 2004, this movie depicts the last twelve hours of the life of Jesus of Nazareth, on the day of his crucifixion in Jerusalem.  I found this movie extremely difficult to watch, as I was continually filled with emotions of sadness, anger, disbelief, and sorrow.  Having never seen this film before, I got to see what Jesus endured and the pain inflicted upon him, both physically and mentally.

This movie was a great interpretation of the story of Jesus for many reasons.  First, this moment touched upon so many key points in the last hours of Jesus’ life, such as the betrayal of Judas, the denial of Jesus by Peter three times, the Romans beating and whipping Jesus, Mary soaking up the blood of Jesus after his painful beating, the carrying of the heavy wooden cross by Jesus, Jesus’ hands nailed to the cross, and his crucifixion.  Second, this film truly depicted the people of the time, the Romans, Judas and Peter, and Jesus just as I had pictured them.  Lastly, this movie truly brought about strong emotions.  This story presented in this movie is really a heart wrenching and horrendously true account.  The Passion of the Christ is the Passion of Jesus largely according to the New Testament Gospels of Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John.

Two moments that truly captivated me and moved me were when Mary soaked up the blood of Jesus on her cloth after his beating and when Pilate asks Jesus if he wants to be crucified or set free.  Both of these instances filled me with emotions.  Seeing Mary so fallen by the brutal beating of Jesus proves how wonderful and loving of a mother she really was.  It seemed to me that she wanted to preserve some part of him and through this action; she was able to do this.  On the other hand, seeing Pilate so conflicted with the decision he had to make was very interesting to me.  I never knew the great length he went to to try and get around Jesus dying.  Disappointingly, the crowd helps Pilate to make his decision: ordering the men to do as the crowd wishes.  I am Italian and knowing what the Romans did to Jesus truly upset me.  The fact that they were the first people to begin crucifixion also stuck with me as barbaric and cruel.

When this movie concluded, I sat for a while at my desk and pondered everything that I had just witnessed.  Watching this movie made me appreciate, even more, everything that Jesus did for man and creation, as he died for us to forgive our sins.  Jesus is the most special and important person in my life and I will always lead by example and do the right thing just as he would have done.

Leave a Reply

